In the Midst of Pain…

The past month or so has been full of reminders how fragile yet resilient human beings can be. A local police officer/former Marine from our church getting into a horrible motorcycle accident; a boy I’ve known for years is currently paralyzed from wreck and is getting ready to start rehab; as I write this, I’m sitting in my uncle’s hospital room, who is recovering from a heart attack. 

A few years ago, I would have been angry with God for all the pain that was happening to people in my life. How do I know this? Because I’ve been angry with God about pain before. When my friend Houston died, that was hard for a ton of people, and there was a period of time when I was very mad at God. I hated that my friends were in pain, and it a very tough patch of work through.  

 I feel that Houston entering into Heaven though made me want to grow a better relationship with God. While it was hard for the first month or so, the gap in my life was able to be filled by spending time getting to know my Heavenly Father. It’s not a one way street; being a Christian means that you have a relationship with Jesus. In any relationship, it’s a give and take. Imagine if a friend you loved to the moon and back only asked you for stuff. They never asked how you were doing or wanted to get to know you. We as humans would probably drop that friend after a while. 

Often times, that’s how we are with God. We ask for His blessings and for Him to answer our prayers instead of trying to get to know Him. It can be a hard road, believe me. It takes effort, but all the greatest relationships take a lot of effort. 

In the midst of pain, I feel better equipped to be content in hard situations because I better understand the God who is in control of everything. There’s still so much I need to learn, but I’m so thankful that my God is the God who wants to a thriving friendship with me. As I pray for the people who are hurting, I am able to pray with confidence that God is not only watching over us, but is working through us. 

Keep Nate, Cayden and Corey in your prayers as they all work through their medical battles. Through it all, God is good. 
Until Next Time, 

Abby

2 thoughts on “In the Midst of Pain…

  1. this was very beautiful, Abby. I saw you had posted this on instagram. thank you for being so willing to share these things going o in your life. you are a lovely young woman of God. He is so proud of His daughter.
    you have such a mature view on pain that I wish everyone had. it truly is remarkable. you are a brave soul with a strong God. hang in there. I will keep your friends and family in my prayers.
    God bless you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

