Me, Myself, and Star Wars

Star Wars Episode 7: The Force Awakens is continuing to smash box office records in its fourth week in the theaters. For the past few years, fans were worried about this new installment to the franchise, fearing that Disney would run the series into the ground.

I think it’s safe to say Disney did a decent job with this film.

Thanks JJ. 

BB8.gif

Star Wars has been near and dear to my heart for quite some time now. Middle school was not the greatest time for me. Friends were changing, school was boring, and I was having a hard time finding a foot hold. When I was in 6th grade, it wasn’t the coolest thing ever to be into Star Wars, but never the less, that’s when I began my geek journey. I remember seeing Star Wars books in the school library, and became fascinated by the art and writing. I knew a few things about the main characters, but I had never seen any of the films. So, because I wanted to read the books in the library, I got a hold of the original trilogy. Ever since then, I’ve been in love.

Han gif.gif

Like I said, middle school was rough. I had just started doing theater intensely and was considering homeschooling. One of my escapes from the drudgery of  school was Star Wars. I would draw my favorite characters. I would read any book I could get my hands on. I would write fan fiction (granted, really awful fan fiction, but I filled several note books with my stories). I was starting to really understand that I wanted to be an artist and writer like the people who made my favorite fandom.

7th grad fan ficiont

(7th Grad Fan Fiction FTW)

Star Wars also creeped into my theatre life as well. I’ve loved doing stage combat for as long as I’ve been a part of CYT, and there were a few summers that I got to do Extreme Theater summer camps, which involved fight training. After a few years of being a camper, I got to be an assistant instructor, one of the camps being Star Wars themed. I was over the moon, and getting to choreograph lightsaber battles for the campers was super fun.

biQPjd3

While being a huge Star Wars fan caused a few bumps in the road when I was younger, I love the universe that has come from the franchise. It has inspired me to be a better artist, writer, and performer. I hope to one day make things that inspire young people to chase their dreams, just as Star Wars has done for me.

Rey

 

I look forward to the new films with high and hopeful expectations, grateful for the fact that my generation gets to have new adventures to experience in a galaxy far far away.

 

 

Until Next Time,

 

Abby

Leave a Reply

