Lessons Learned from the Hardest Semester of my Life

Walking out of my math final at 2:43 Thursday afternoon was the best feeling in the entire world. This semester was by far the hardest semester of school I have ever stumbled through, and I feel as though I have learned a few things that might be able to help others who decide to make the journey through the insanity that is college.

1.Grades do not define who you are. 

Heaven’s sakes, everyone needs this hammered into their brain. You’ve probably heard this before, but the grade you get does not tell you whether or not you are smart. You can get a D on a test and still be a really intelligent human being. Yes, it can really suck (trust me I know), but that red mark isn’t a reflection of your intelligence.

download (4)

 

2. Avoid starting online classes during the week you need to save China.

In translation: try to avoid starting a class during a very busy week where you can’t focus very well on it. Lesson. Learned. Starting my online class the show week of Mulan was very crazy, and I am so very thankful for wonderful friends who put up with me that week while I was dying.

mulan_11

3. Let sleep happen.

There are some nights where it feels like you feel like you need to stay up till 3am studying, but there are times where you just have to let yourself catch some zzz’s. Yes, there will be late nights, but try not to let them happen too many nights in a row.

monsters-inc-boo-laughing-sleeping

4. Literature teachers are really hard graders.

I’ve taken upper level classes before, but word of warning: if your English/literature/History teacher seems super chipper and really passionate, they will be the hardest graders EVER. Writing is kind of my thing when it comes to school work, so getting an 82% on my first essay was kind of a wake up call for me. Granted, it was still a decent grade, but I was not crazy about getting a “B” on a writing assignment.

giphy (5)

 

5. You can make the greatest friends by bonding over your suffering. 

Whether it’s the people at your work table in an art class or the girls in your row in math class, connecting with people who are on the same struggle bus as you can be crucial to making it through the semester. Don’t be afraid to talk to the people around you; you never know when you’ll be meeting someone who will help you through the craziest of times.

(I’m looking at you, Hailey and Emily ;D)

tumblr_mx0muvv62l1sx4jfio1_500

 

 

I am so extremely relieved to be done with this semester, but looking back at it, I am grateful for the many lessons I’ve learned over the course of it. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to focus on the really important stuff: STAR WARS OPENS NEXT WEEK! Time to marathon!!!!!!

 

Until Next Week,

 

Abby

Leave a Reply

