Two Years

There are days were it just feels like yesterday when I was sitting at the kitchen table playing Jenga after dinner when my mom got the phone call. That night, some of my CYT family came over to my home to just be together as we tried to process the unimaginable. As I went to school that week, I would wander around campus, numb, not knowing what to do with myself as I tried to understand what had happened. In all honesty, I was mad at God. I was mad that He had taken Houston St. John off of this earth. I was mad that I would never get to see such a wonderful person again, and I was mad that my family was so devastated.

But oh, God is so good.

Through the devastation of losing Houston, CYT Kansas City banded together like nothing I have ever seen. People who had issues with each other forgave each other. Every hug was so meaningful. We wiped each other’s tears away and we loved each other like we never had before. As we worked through the pain, God worked through us.

A day hasn’t gone by where Houston hasn’t crossed my mind, and I couldn’t be more thankful that God let me have such an amazing person come into my life, even if it was for a short time. Houston was a prime example of what it means to really love people. He was one of the most, if not the most, talented human beings I have ever met, yet he was also one of the most humble. He didn’t let his talents get in the way of being a friend to everyone he came into contact with. He would never deny a hug, and would tell people “I love you” so easily. You don’t meet too many people like this, especially in high school. Houston didn’t waste any time; he was always working to become a better performer, but he was also working to spread as much joy to others as possible.

In the midst of heart break, God refined so many spirits. There are so many people who now strive to be the kind of person that Houston was on earth, and CYT KC has been shaped for the better because of it. As you go about your day, remember that you don’t know how much time you have left to love other people. God gave us the ability to love each other and share the grace that He has given to us. Life is a vapor, so view every day as an opportunity to spread love to everyone around you. It’s something that Houston was extremely good at 🙂

We miss you so much Houston, but thank you for helping us to better understand what it means to live life to the fullest.

10394774_903055309747078_8105684657536064000_n

Until Next Time,

Abby

Philippians 4:13 For I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. 

One thought on “Two Years

  1. Thank you for sharing this! God is definitely good to all who trust in Him. Keep doing what you’re doing Abby! You also have great talents & are very humble. I pray a shield of peace & protection over you, that you may continue to spread God’s love, & make a difference. You are “clothed with strength and dignity!” Proverbs 31:25
    God bless (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

