Be a Girl Worth Fighting For

Over the past year, I have learned a lot about myself. Many doors have closed, but so many new ones have opened, and I’ve started to understand who I am. Finding my identity in the right things has been a long journey, but through this process of refinement, I feel that going through some really tough times has been the best thing that could have happened to me.

I recently had the honor of playing the role of Mulan, which made me start to think more about the young woman I want to be. There is a song in the show called, “A Girl Worth Fighting For,” when the soldiers are singing about the kind of girl they want to fight for as they march off to war. The things they sing about are very superficial; they want girls who have good looks, will fawn over their battle scars, and cook a good meal. The fellas don’t really care about girls who have a brain or speak their mind. In our society, girls are often told that looks are the most important thing and that their value is found in what others say. Well, this isn’t the case. To be a girl who is worth fighting for, there are a few qualities that the world will just brush aside that you need to know.

Be a Girl Who is Kind

Make people wonder how  you keep smiling. People are going to hurt you. That’s what people do, but people also have the potential to overcome hurt for the better. There are going to be times when it is hard to be kind, but in the long run, being kind is one of the most attractive qualities that you can have. Keep your chin up, Princess. It’s gonna be worth it in the end that you didn’t spread that rumor or that you don’t retaliate with a hurtful comment.

1427787635-mulan

Be a Girl Who Doesn’t Compromise

Being strong means standing firm in what you believe. Set high standards for yourself, and don’t let anyone make you compromise. It’s so easy to let yourself slip up and start bending. If you ever find yourself saying, “Okay, maybe just this once,” that’s a giant red flag telling you to get out of that situation. You are entitled to your beliefs and your boundaries; don’t let anyone take that away from you.

giphy (3)

Be a Girl Who is Herself

It’s really easy to want to change parts of yourself to fit in with the crowd. Everyone wants to be liked by everyone else. But here’s the harsh reality: Not everyone is gonna like you, and that’s okay. Granted, there are things that you might want to work on, like being a better listener or keeping your space tidy, but don’t feel like you need to hide the things that make you You. If you love baseball, you rock that jersey. If you like getting dressed up, by all means, you work those high heels. If you’re quiet, don’t feel like you have to shout and if you’re loud, use that to make other people laugh or feel good about themselves. God has given you specific qualities for a special purpose; don’t feel like you have to change yourself just to get that boy’s attention.

giphy (4)

Be a Girl Who Waits

This one is super difficult. You’re scrolling through your Facebook and see all your friends out with their boyfriends or girls you grew up with getting engaged, and you’re thinking, “When am I gonna get that?” Or you might even already be in a relationship, but you hear friends talk about their wild nights with their significant other or run across a magazine that tells you all the tricks and tips to “having a good time.” It’s a battle to wait. I’ll be the first to say that sometimes I get a little bummed out seeing all the cutesy couple pictures as I scroll through my Instagram. But would I rather have a so-so boy now, or an amazing man later? Waiting can be really hard, but it’s so much better than having regrets.

km2VMFI

Be a Girl Who Knows Her Value

Everyone is valuable, and sadly, so many girls don’t understand the concept of being valued. But oh my goodness, you are so precious and wonderfully made. You were hand-crafted by a Creator who is crazy about you, who designed your laugh, picked the color of your eyes, and placed you in this time and place to live an extraordinary life. It’s up to you to realize this for yourself. Those mean girls or dumb boys don’t have any right to assign your value, so don’t let anyone sway the way you view yourself. You are strong, you are beautiful, and you are so loved. This is something that will always be a constant battle, and there are going to be times that you feel that you are utterly worthless. When times like this hit, remember that the God who knitted you together died so that He could spend an eternity with you.

tumblr_lgd7gi5e5d1qdfv3oo1_500

As I continue to grow up in challenging times, it is wonderful to get reminders of who I am as a child of the King. There are always gonna be hard days, but during those rough times, I’m thankful to know that the One who designed me thinks of me as not only a Girl Worth Fighting For, but Dying For!

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

Psalm 139:14

Mulan-Makeup-GIF

Until Next Time,

Abby

6 thoughts on “Be a Girl Worth Fighting For

  1. What a beautiful post and reminder! Thank you Abby for your wise words and uplifting message! I’m in tears to be reminded of how blessed I am to have a God who designed and knows me, and loves me.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

