Tips to Having Fun at Community College

I am have a lot of friends who are starting their first year of college, and instead of going off to a four year college, they are doing community college (which is honestly probably one of the best decisions that you can make when it comes to getting gen. eds out of the way without burning a huge hole in your pocket). Since I am going into my third year at my current school, I thought I would share a few things that I have picked up during my time at community college.

Join a club. They are so much fun. You make new friends, and often times, there is free food. (I hear that Art Club is lots of
fun.)

Find out when there are events during the week. Most colleges have 3-5 activities per week, and often times, there is free food. (Are you seeing the theme?)

Do your homework. Now, this isn’t a fun activity, but by getting your homework done sooner rather than later, you will have more time to breathe and not feel like you are going to die. Also, this is a great time to eat food.

Play out on the lawn between classes. This might just be at my school, but every now and then, one of my friends will start a game of catch or hacky-sack out on the lawn in the middle of campus. These almost always lead to awesome conversations and/or everyone ending up cracking up because of how bad you all are at hacky-sack. (This is also an ideal time to eat food)

Talk to the humans around you. Seriously. Humans are the best! At college, you’re going to meet so many different kinds of people, so take advantage of this and make new friends. At community college, you will have a lot of opportunities to meet people who are older than you, and these can be the best people to have study groups with. Broaden your horizons and introduce yourself to the person sitting next to you. You might find that you have a new person to eat food with!

To all those going back to school this week, I wish you the very best of luck and I hope you have an incredible semester! Make sure that you sleep and feed yourself to keep your brain happy and ready to learn. Let me know if you have any other tips for having fun at school 🙂

tumblr_mblwwgCZl31rvfy6do1_500

Until next time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

