Being Jealous of My Main Character

I like to think that I’m a decent writer. I’ve been doing this blogging thing for a while, and I’ve dabbled in the script writing and poetry realm. But, my biggest goal as a writer is to become a published novelist. The program that has helped me work on this goal is NaNoWriMo. I’ve mentioned this program in the past, but as a quick over view, you write a 50,000 word manuscript in 30 days. That’s about 100 pages in a Word document. I tried back in April with Camp NaNoWriMo to write just 10,000 words for another project, and I utterly failed. This month though, I have hit the half way mark on my current project, which is rewriting the novel that I wrote in middle school called Drawn to Life.

While I’ve been working on the project, I’ve come to find out that my main character is someone I really want to be. In all honesty, she has a lot of the characteristics that I have, but as the story as progressed, I’ve become jealous of how my main character handles certain situations. This is making me feel slightly crazy, because I’m the one who created her. I’m the one who has made her a person who doesn’t take crap and always stands up for herself. So why am I jealous of a fictional girl of my own creation?

As a writer, I often write characters with attributes that I wish I had. For example, I once wrote a short story for a school assignment about a surfer  because surfing is something I’ve wanted to learn how to do for a long time. I love writing about superheros, because I think having some sort of super power would be extremely awesome. So, when I write a character who is assertive and sticks up for herself, it’s a wake up call for me. It’s a reminder to me that I think about being a person that does not let people walk all over her, but sometimes, I don’t put those thoughts into action.

I guess my biggest hope to get out of writing this story is that I grow as not only a writer, but as a person. I want to learn from my characters how to be stronger, which is basically learning from myself. Man, it’s really weird being a novelist.

I made a video on this topic, so check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v

If you are a fellow writer, let me know if you’ve had any of these kinds before! I’d love to know if I’m not the only crazy one ;P

Now, time for me to go back to noveling.

Writing_Book_GIF

Until next time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

