Recharging

I hate sitting still. I’m one of those super irritating people that we’re watching a movie or tv show at home, I’ll be working on a drawing or typing on my laptop or messing around on my phone. It’s often from a feeling that I have to be making progress on something, even if it’s really trivial, like finding reference pictures for a future drawing of Batman riding in a hot air balloon. I’m also one of those people who multitasks in really weird ways. For example, I learned that I can read a book while doing crunches, planks, and lifting weights. I am workout while reading, and it has made me very happy.

But over the past few days, I have been sleeping. A lot. My motivation to move has been overtaken by my body’s desire to burrow under my covers and sleep for another 30 minutes. And guess what? My world has not collapsed around me because I haven’t been as productive as I usually am.

We are made with the potential to do incredible things. I have accomplished things that couldn’t have been done while laying around on my butt all day. But, there are times that you have to rest, or you will get burned out. There’s even examples in the bible when Jesus rested. He left the crowds to go spend time to refocus and recharge while spending time with His Father (Check out Mark 6:31). Our bodies have to recharge at some point, or we won’t be able to do anything.

There are some days when my pride wants me to push myself past the breaking point, but I am slowly but surely learning that I have to take a step back every now and then chill. It’s better to do good work with a rested body than bad work on empty. It’s not a sign of weakness to get some quality rest, even when it means not working as much as you want to at the time.

Until Next Time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

