I Like Big Books and I Cannot Lie

As far back as I can remember, I’ve been a book lover. There’s a few pictures of me in old photo albums with stacks of picture books and of trips to the library. There’s even a few librarians that have watched me grow up since we moved to the home that we’ve been in for the past 13 years.

Sadly, due to the intensity of a few of my college course over the past academic year, I wasn’t able to read any leisure books while I was doing school. It was a very sad situation. I was reading mundane textbooks that made me bored out of my mind, and all I wanted to do was dive into my stack of library books. I’m one month into my summer, and since I got out of school, I’ve read a grand total of eleven books. There have been days where I lay in bed for hours at a time just soaking in words, and because I have started reading again, I’ve wanted to write again.

When you start to develop a skill, such as writing, there are times were you need to go back to the thing that inspired you to start developing that skill. Looking back, the writing that I did when I was consistently reading was loads better than when I wasn’t. Studying books that you love and even ones that you dislike help your brain learn the kinds of techniques you want to use when making your own style. Plus, reading helps you build your vocabulary and is a great way to keep your mind sharp. If you’re going to write, you need to know what people like and don’t like reading.

If you are interested in the books that I’ve been reading, you can check them out at my Goodreads here:  https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/22783084-sherlock I’ve been reading a lot of Young Adult fiction, but I’m also reading through some comic books and art history books. If there’s a book that you love that I should read, let me know! I really enjoy finding new things to read 🙂

I hope everyone’s summer is going well!

Until next time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

