Camp NaNoWriMo (April 2015)

Ah NaNoWriMo. An adventure only the bravest of writers attempt, and a challenge that only the most courageous win. It’s a battle that you fight with your biggest enemy: yourself.

For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. The official month is November, where you spend the 30 days working to write a 50,000 word novel (Around 1,700 words a day). I have participated since 2012, and this year, I decided to join the camp experience (which started yesterday). The camp is a little less daunting; you get to set your own writing goal. Due to my work load with school and Godspell, I set my word out goal to 10,000, which is roughly 333 words a day.

It’s been a little rough for me writing wise over the past six months. Last November, I came no where near close to finishing the 50,000 word goal. It was really frustrating, and it kind of put me in a funk. But this year, I have made it a goal of mine to get something, ANYTHING, finished and published. I have about five novel/series projects started, but I have only finished one, and that was in eighth grade (and it sucked). Through trial and error, I have learned what I like to/am good at writing, so I have chosen to work on a story titled “Almost Twins” that has been outlined and reworked multiple times. It is a big goal of mine to get a rough draft done by June, so Camp NaNoWriMo will give me a jump start on that.

I hope to give you a great report at the end of this month giving you an update on my novel. If you are interested in a challenge like this, check out these websites below! They have great writing resources and are constantly updating with videos, pep talks and challenges. It’s a good way to get motivated to get those awesome stories out of your head ๐Ÿ™‚

http://campnanowrimo.org

http://nanowrimo.org

Until Next Time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

