My Hands

I have spent a lot of my spring break doing some cleaning and going through a lot of old memories. While going through my hope chest, I found a stack of my old writing assignments from elementary/middle school. This little piece stuck out to me most: unnamed

It reads: My hands are the little colorful tools that help me express myself. My hands are, as Christian Youth Theater friends call them, fairy sized hands that build Lego castles and draw Star Wars characters. My hands are the things that grip a light saber as I battle the evil Darth Vader. My hands are a showcase of what not to do with sewing supplies and why you should wear gloves when you climb rock walls. My hands are the things that always get tangled as they dance across the piano keys. Sometimes I wonder if these hands will ever paint a masterpiece, build a skyscraper of Legos, climb Mount Everest, or play at Carnegie Hall. Who knows? My hands are me.

I wrote this for my first writing assignment of 6th grade where we had to pick a body part that best represents who we are. It’s funny to go back and read stuff that I wrote a long time ago, and what was important to me then. While I’m not as much of a Star Wars freak as I was when I was younger, a lot of what I wrote five years ago is still true. My hands are always covered in paint, they still play piano, and yes, they are still tiny. I still have a scar from a sewing project, and I’ve gained another one from a sword fight (stage combat can be rough). I don’t’ climb anymore, but my hands are calloused from guitar playing and my random tree climbing adventures.

One of my favorite passages in the bible is in 1st Corinthians 12, which talks about the body of Christ:

15 Now if the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body. 16 And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body. 17 If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? 18 But in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. 19 If they were all one part, where would the body be? 20 As it is, there are many parts, but one body.

All of us have different talents. Some people are incredibly smart and do well in academics. Others are talented in the athletic field. Some excel in the creative fields with music, art or writing. There are a lot of people who shine in leadership positions, while others are good at being a support system. If we were all the same, the world would be extremely boring. The world wouldn’t be able to function if all of us were talented soccer players, or ballerinas, or math geniuses. It takes all different kinds of people to make our world work. God designed us to all have different talents, and we are to use those gifts to glorify Him.

I feel that my hands are my best tools for what I want to do with my life. I love making art and playing musical instruments. God blessed me with the desire to be creative, and I want to use that to reflect Him. You, reader, have been blessed with gifts too. You are a crucial part of the Body. You might feel that your life is insignificant, but you are so important. You just have to be open and willing to use the skills in your life to live an extraordinary way.

hand

Until next time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

