Why My Parents Don’t Care What I Major In

Right now, I’m in community college, but technically, I’m a junior in high school. In the United States, there is a lot of pressure on high school juniors to figure out exactly what they want to do for the rest of their lives career wise.

And that’s freaking scary.

 

Let me get this straight America: You are asking teenagers to decide what they want to do for the next 50 years, and then put thousands of dollars into a place where they will get a piece of paper after four years that is supposed to make them successful. And this doesn’t sound kind of crazy?

Often times, we get caught up in things that seem extremely important now, and we forget the most important thing: Our identity in Christ. ACT/SATs, grades, college applications,  after school activities, and jobs can take up so much of our time and fill up our thoughts. We forget that the only thing that truly matters is what God thinks of us. Our lives are supposed to reflect Him, not the score we get on a test or the college we get into.

I am currently in the process of nailing down my major and finding the college I will attend. It’s terrifying that within the next few years I’ll be out of the house living in a dorm or apartment. On top of that, I am getting a degree that is considered by others to be “impractical”. Art is a hard thing to make a living on. There’s going to be a lot of hustling and odd jobs in my future. But thankfully, my parents are very supportive and want me to do what I’m passionate about.

Here’s the reason why my parents don’t care what my major is: All they want for me is that I have a relationship with Jesus. Everything else is extra. Granted, my mom and dad want me to be a hard worker and to apply myself, but they know that I want to glorify God through art and writing. As long as I’m following Christ, they’re happy. Nothing else matters more than my eternal destiny.

Big changes are coming in my life, and while it’s freaky, I’m excited to see what’s going to happen next. God has opened so many doors for me, and I’m eager to see where I’ll end up in a few years. When you feel stressed about future plans, remember that the only thing that truly matters is my relationship Jesus. Everything else is going to fall into place, and it’s gonna be awesome.

Until Next Time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

