Starting The Day Right

Today was the first time in a long time that I got up and read my bible before school. And today was awesome. 

Now, this isn’t a big promise that reading your bible will keep bad stuff away. Your bible is not a bubble that makes bad stuff bounce off of you. But starting my day by studying the Word and praying really set my course for the better. I had a good attitude about life. I felt that being closer to my Heavenly Father for those short 15 minutes really helped my mood and made me happier to be alive. 

Christianity does not solve all your problems. A lot of Christians struggle with depression (me being one of them) and other crappy things, like illness, loss and doubt. But I have noticed that on the days that I really let myself be led by Jesus from the very beginning of it, I have a better day over all. 

If you don’t know where to start, I highly suggest Pslams and Proverbs. One or two a day can start you off right. Let me know your favorite passages/studies you have done, and how God has worked in your life 🙂 

Until Next Time, 

Abby

One thought on “Starting The Day Right

  1. Spurgeon once said, “A Bible that’s falling apart usually belongs to someone who isn’t”. Over the course of my life I have found this to be true. I am not sure that I would ever say I suffered from clinical depression, but I do know what it feels like to live years with a dark cloud about you and seemingly no escape. The Word of God is powerful, and when I have been close to it my life is different. When I stray from it’s pages the cloud tends to come back, and darken.

    All this to say, I agree. Stay in the Word of God, and if you ever find yourself slowly moving away from daily drinking in its words, run desperately back to it.

    Like a man lost deep in the depths of the darkest cave holds dearly to his flashlight, so to must we cling dearly to our time in the Word of God.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

