Reasons Why I Want An Office At Pixar Someday

I am not ashamed to admit that I am and always will be a Disney child, but all of my favorite movies are from a very specific part of the magical kingdom of stories: Pixar. For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to grow up to be a writer, but as I’ve grown older, I as narrowed down that dream. Someday, I would love to move out to California and work everyday as a concept artist and story-writer for my favorite animation studio, and I have the reasons why they should start clearing a space for me.

  1. I am obsessed.

No, seriously, it might be a problem. I have seen each Pixar movie at least 5 times, but I’ve seen my favorites, UP, THE INCREDIBLES, and TOY STORY, more than I can count. I always get all the questions right on those Facebook quizzes that are called stupid things like, “Hardest Pixar Quiz in Existence”. I’ve watched every behind the scenes documentary and read every book about Pixar that could get my hands on. I love their stories, and they haven’t disappointed me with one of their films.

giphy

  1. I have ideas for films to fill in “The Pixar Theory”.

Okay, so a guy who loves Pixar even more than me came up with this incredible thing called The Pixar Theory. According to this theory, all 14 films take place in the same universe, just in different points in time. It’s super interesting. If you want to hear the theory, check out this video right here:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0OTZo3-K5s

Anyway, I have many ideas for stories that could fill in some gaps in this theory. I would post them here, but just in case Pixar people are reading this right now, I don’t want them to hear my ideas in this format. I also don’t want smucks stealing my ideas 😛 Maybe someday you all will see a movie inspired by one of my scribbles in my notebook!

0

  1. I wanna be part of the world changers.

Pixar is constantly pushing boundaries of technology. Just look back to the first Toy Story and compare it to the visual awesomeness that was Monster’s University. THEIR FILMS ARE BEAUITFUL! One of my favorite quotes is, “Art challenges technology; technology inspires art.” (John Lassetar) With every new project, animators have to figure out how to make thing look better, and sometimes advances in computer technology are made, all because of an animated movie! I just think that would be so cool to be a part of.

connected-studio-audience-inspired-innovation-british-science-festival-2014-3-638

 

  1. Story Telling is extremely important to me.

I once had a conversation with a girl who said:

“Animated movies don’t really matter, why would anyone spend their time making them?”

Now, instead of decking her like I wanted to, I explained it to her that stories matter. A lot. Think about it this way: All of us are born with creativity. Some of us use it in a business setting, others in a classroom, and others use it in a studio. Story telling is a way to preserve a culture. Can you imagine not having the fairytales that you read as a kid? I sure can’t! Some day, people will look back on films like the ones that Pixar makes and learn things about our culture through the stories that we told. We are blessed with the gift of being able to come up with new, fantastic ideas. Not using that gift is a waste! The people at Pixar are a great example of using the gift of creativity. Their stories are brilliant, and the art makes my heart so happy. I want to be able to help bring that same joy to another kid with wild dreams.

Unknown

Every now and then I think that I’m over my dream of working at Pixar. I think that it’s too ridiculous and that I’ll never leave my hometown to go pursue a crazy dream. But then I remember how much their stories mean to me. I often go to them when I’m sad, because I know that they’ll cheer me up, or when I just want to have a good laugh and appreciate life. I hope that someday I can at least meet John Lassester (one of the first people to work for Pixar who now oversees all the creativity that goes on their) and thank him for the work that he put into the movies that helped make my childhood awesome. Who knows? Maybe someday I’ll be able to look back at this post while I’m sitting in an office at Pixar and remember my once far-fetched dream.

Don’t give up on what you love. Extraordinary dreams are the best kinds to have 🙂

Until next time,

Abby

Leave a Reply

