Beware The Writer

You wouldn’t think a mild-mannered, bespectacled, nerd sitting in the corner with a laptop, a pile of notes and their eighth cup of coffee wouldn’t be someone to think twice about, but that might be a mistake on your part.

Writers can be dangerous.

Why you ask?

Well I’ll tell ya.

 1) They read.

You can’t be a good writer without being a reader first. At some point, a writer was a reader, even if they don’t do it as often as they used to, but I feel that the most dangerous ones are those who continue to read into their writing career. Books give you knowledge, and knowledge is powerful, which leads me to my next point.books

2) They use the mightiest weapon

And laptops too. They enjoy laptops as well.

You’ve heard the phrase, “The pen is mightier than the sword” before I’m sure. Writers fight with words, and if you ever read a quality writer’s “angry writing”, you’ll know what I mean. Words are extremely powerful, and those who know how to craft them into beautiful collections can bring you to tears, warm your heart, or break it in two.tumblr_lreqqdFyN71r1lc3no1_1280

 

3) They are constantly thinking and plotting.

Alright, embarrassing story time. I, as a writer, am always listening and thinking about ideas that could be great sparks for a new story. A group of friends and I often go to McDonald’s after our theater classes on Monday night to hang out and talk. A friend of mine, who is very dramatic on and off stage, says every now and then that he’ll one day take over the world. At one point, I finally asked, “How exactly will you take over the world?” He of course didn’t reveal his plans, but that didn’t stop me from thinking about it. I got to the point where I had thought up what would happen if I started a resistance against him and who our friends would end up siding with. My friend Tori kept catching me laughing to myself as I was coming up with new “plot points”.This was Monday night, and I’m still thinking about new details four days later. I even got mad at my friend Wesley when he said that he would side with Zach instead of me because I was invested in the story that was forming in my head.

Yeah, I talk to myself. Don’t act like you don’t.

Writers often never leave the house without a notebook. Ideas come from everywhere: over hearing strangers’ conversations, silly signs, and situations that pop up during everyday life can spark a flame that might turn into a best seller someday. If you ever see one of you friends who enjoys writing zoned out and possibly giggling, they’re probably plotting something new for a future project.

Writer Photo

4) You might end up in one of their stories.

This is the most dangerous of all. Do. Not. Wrong. A. Writer. Creative people often tap into deep emotions that they’ve experienced to better their art or writing. Now, people could end up in a writer’s story in a good way, but it is very possible that someone that has hurt the author might end up being hated villain, a pathetic character, or meet a horrible end in the most brutal way. Just keep that in mind. Besides, you should be kind to your friends anyway without the threat of looking like an idiot in a novel.89a99818a6e4dc4dd7112f601bff3cec

The writers I’ve met at college are some of the most creative, amazing, and diabolical people I’ve ever met. If you have the pleasure of being friends with one, appreciate their weirdness. And watch your back. You never know when they will use you as a muse.

Until next time,

Abby

3 thoughts on “Beware The Writer

  1. Oh my goodness, I absolutely love this article. It sums up a writer perfectly. Those who read gain knowledge, both of the content that they’re reading about and of writing itself. Those who write put that knowledge to the test and now have the ability to impact others. And, yes, they are *very* dangerous. 😉

    Beware the thinkers! (Isn’t the mind an amazing thing?)

    Like

    1. Exactly! I’m glad that you enjoyed it! Feel free to share it with your fellow writers! Maybe they’ll feel the same way 😀

      Knowledge is powerful, and thinkers run the world 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

