Let’s Talk About Hogwarts Houses

Alright, before we dive into this, let me give you some background knowledge of my experience in the Harry Potter fandom. I didn’t read these books until 7th grade, and when I finally read them, I devoured them in about 2 ½ weeks. While I was not involved in this fandom from a young age like many of my friends were, I still love the stories. In fact, good old J.K. is one of the people who inspires me to be an author.

JK+Rowling+JKThanks J.K. 🙂

Debate about which Hogwarts House people would be in is always fun. Every now and then, my friends and I will try and decide where our favorite Disney characters or famous actors would end up. But it’s always the most fun to imagine which house you would be in. I asked some of my friends what they thought about themselves, and here’s what I got back:

  • Katelynn: I’m technically in Ravenclaw because I’m academically motivated and like to challenge myself. I’m pretty organized and focused over all. But ideally, I would be in Hogwarts and just be Hermione Granger.
  •  Michael: Probably Slytherin. That’s what I got on Pottermore. Lol they are smart and cunning if I remember right. I wouldn’t be a bad one.
  •  Marri: Ravenclaw: I believe that I belong in the Ravenclaw house, because of how much I value knowledge and the use of knowledge in relationships. I show I care about people by remembering thing I learn about them and learning more about the the things they love so I can understand them more. I also use things I learn to help my friends and family when things get rough. Being a Ravenclaw is much more than being smart, it’s about how you use the knowledge you have.
  •  Zach: Slytherin. I’m evil and I enjoy manipulation. I’m very conceited and hold myself highly over everyone else. I am powerful.
  •  Suz: Hufflepuff! I’m a HUFFLEPUFF through and through because I’m a freakishly hard worker who is a total dork.

635525021344045537-1775236246_hogwarts_crest_grunge_wallpape_by_carvedincandy-d48rhf3-e1351708173295

Now, according to the Hogwarts Wikia, these are the recognizable traits in each house.

  • Gryffindor: Bravery, Nerve, Chivalry, Courage, Daring and Strong of Will
  •  Ravenclaw: Intelligence, Wit, Wisdom, Creativity, Originality, Individuality and Acceptance
  •  Hufflepuff: Dedication, Hard Work, Fair play, Patience, Kindness, Tolerance, and Unafraid of Toil
  •  Slytherin: Traditionalism, Resourcefulness, Cunning, Ambition, Leadership qualities, Self-Preservation, Determination, Cleverness, Fraternity, and Power

I used to take every Hogwarts quiz I could find to figure out what house I would be in. When I was younger, I always wanted to be a Gryffindor. I mean, who didn’t? Gryffindors were so cool. They’re the brave ones. They got the spotlight throughout the series. And to be quite honest, I got Gryffindor more often than not, but I always picked red as my favorite color and a lion as my favorite animal. But, I did get sorted there when I joined Pottermore.

But over the past year, I’ve changed as a person. I’ve hit some awesome highs and horrible lows, and the experiences I’ve had have started to shape me into the young adult I’m growing into (though I will probably refuse to be called an adult when the time comes). It’s hard to just pick one house. I’m a pretty smart and creative person, I’m an extremely dedicated and hard working person (and apparently a good finder according to Zach), and I have a lot of ambition and I’m a natural leader. How do you only fall into one?

 Well, 1, that’s how Rowling set up her universe, and 2, you can’t spilt yourself into four people to be in four different places. You have traits that outweigh the others.

UnknownGryffindors are daring. They’re brash. They’re strong willed. The house is often associated with fire. I know that I’m a very brash person, so I relate to the fiery traits of the Gryffindors. The problem with this house is that it’s the most popular, so you’re always wondering whether or not you just want to be in the house because it’s super cool, or if you actually belong there.
Unknown

Ravenclaws are the smart ones. I like to consider myself a smart human. I mean, I started college when I was 15. While I have always gotten good grades and was “good” at school, I don’t consider myself an academic person. I dunno, I guess I am, but I don’t enjoy homework. Even with writing assignments, which are my favorite to do, I don’t really get joy from doing school work (unless it’s a creative project).

UnknownHufflepuffs are often the end of jokes, which sucks because there are some awesome qualities in this house. I definitely relate to the hard-working aspect of this house, and I try to be kind to others. But I am by no means a patient person. I guess it’s part of my fiery personality, but I really need to be right. Like, all the time. And I don’t have a huge amount of patience for stupid people, which leads me to the final house.

Ah the Slytherins. It’s weird to admit that I relate a lot to the traits in this house. I’ve had to become very Unknownresourceful over the past few years with in activities that I’ve done when problems that have popped up. I’m often placed in leadership rolls, I have a lot of determination, and I’d like to think that I’m pretty clever. I would even go as far as saying that I enjoy power. Leadership is something that I really enjoy. I like being in charge, which is why I have to add on that I know that I’m a bossy person. I often think that I am right, so I want others to be doing the same thing as me, because why wouldn’t they want to be right too? I often work hard to prove myself. I want people to think that I’m important, or worthy of recognition. My pride is something I constantly battle. But I don’t feel like self-preservation is a big issue for me. I have stuck up for my friends in the past, even though it has gotten me into trouble. If you go with the thinking that all Slytherins are evil, I don’t think I would fit into that category.

Because I couldn’t make up my own mind, I let the internet do it for me. I looked around trying to find a quiz that I hadn’t done before, and I found a comprehensive test that I hadn’t taken before (link at the end of this post). I liked this one a lot because it didn’t ask for a favorite color, favorite animal, or something obvious that would link you to a certain house. I also liked that even when it asked which house you would prefer to be in,it didn’t effect your quiz results too drasticly.

My final results were ranked:

1)Gryffindor 2) Slythrien 3) Hufflepuff 4) Ravenclaw.

images

The description that the quiz gave me said:

“Gryffindor’s cardinal traits are bravery, pride, stubbornness and impulsiveness. Most people in the house of Gryffindor will be extroverted. (Remember, introversion is different than being shy: you can be a shy extrovert.) Gryffindors gain energy and life by being around people, grain strength from friends and enjoy working with those close to them. However, they are also emotionally volatile and can experience a wide range of feelings in a short amount of time, from unbridled happiness to deep depression to unrestrained rage. They are less emotionally stable than some of the other houses (such as Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff); Gryffindors are also impulsive. They’re also generally good-hearted and trusting, and for the most part like people at first sight unless they are given a reason not to. Gryffindors are Prideful, bad at taking criticism and easily get into conflicts with others—this is the main trait that would bring their overall level of agreeableness from high to average. A Gryffindor’s prideful nature coupled with their sense of justice and stubborn behavior causes them to be extremely set in their ways. They have a difficult time backing down from a fight or admitting that they are wrong. It’s also very hard for them to get over a bad first impression or change their opinion on someone.”

To me, this described me pretty well. While I do relate to all the other houses in different ways (some more than I thought I ever would), I still take pride in the Gryffindor House.

If you like the Harry Potter universe, I encourage you to take the quiz! It’s very well done, and you might be surprised by your results! Feel free tom comment below with your results! I’d love to see what other people think.

Until Next Time,

Abby

e77b3e97fb6c0feb8452ab13fee9e0ca

Link to the Hogwarts Quiz I took: http://www.helloquizzy.com/tests/the-sorting-hat-a-comprehensive-harry-potter-personality-assessment-testquiz

Link to my results: http://www.helloquizzy.com/results/the-sorting-hat-a-comprehensive-harry-potter-personality-assessment-testquiz/?var_Gryffindor=88&var_Ravenclaw=56&var_Slytherin=71&fromCGI=1&var_Hufflepuff=59 

Leave a Reply

