Lessons I’ve Learned From My Dog

Dogs are wonderful. I have a very sweet Golden Retriever/ Chow mix named Toby Jack, and I love him so very much. While he can’t talk and doesn’t go hang out with me like my other friends, I have learned a few things from my precious puppy that I feel that we all need to be reminded of every now and then.

1) Persistence is a good qualityPhoto on 1-5-15 at 10.42 PM #4 (original)

And it can get you treats. Toby is a very good beggar, and he doesn’t give up until he gets a snack. If I were as persistent as my dog, I probably would get a lot more done during the day. I have so many things that I want to do, but I give up easily when things get tough. Toby has stared at me for a good 45 minutes just to get to lick my plate. That’s commitment. If my dog can sit still for that long for scraps, I can get my act together and get stuff done.

2) You can still act like a puppy when you grow upPhoto on 1-5-15 at 10.44 PM #6 (original)

Toby is about 7 or 8 now, but he still acts like a puppy all the time. A lot of people feel that when they are a certain age, they have to stop having fun and be serious all the time. But having fun is a gift from God. He didn’t have to make things for us to enjoy, but He did. So roll around in the grass. Play catch with your friends. Chase squirrels up a tree! Growing up is inevitable, but losing your inner child is optional.

3) Unconditional LovePhoto on 1-5-15 at 10.42 PM #3 (original)

Dogs love you no matter what. It’s so nice to have my furry friend waiting for me at the door every day when I come home from school or work. The past few months especially I’ve been having a hard time loving people. I’ve been hurt, felt stepped on and unwanted. But in this new year, I want to gain back my love of people. Toby still loves me, even if I forget to let him out or don’t give him a treat. God puts up with all of my short comings and junk, yet He still loves me and doesn’t leave me.

4) Wearing a seat belt helps a lotPhoto on 1-5-15 at 10.44 PM #4 (original)

I took Toby for a ride today and he kept slipping on the seats. If he had had a seat belt on, it might not have been as rough in the back. Then again, if he had thumbs and didn’t want to sniff everything, that might have helped as well.

If you are lucky enough to have a pet, cherish them. I find it so awesome that we are able to have companionship with God’s creation. Even though our animals can’t teach us about history or help up with math homework, they can show us glimpses of God’s love, and I find that really neat.

Until Next Time,

Abby

Shout out to Toby for putting up with me while I was trying to get him to take a picture :P

Shout out to Toby for putting up with me and Photo Booth. He was looking up at Mom hoping for help 😛

Leave a Reply

